MONROE – Richard Helms, who chairs the Union County Board of Commissioners, administered the oaths of office July 20 to board of election members Harry Crow, Shirley Bossbach, Kevin Jordan and Sandra Williams.

Judge Sanford Steelman was unable to attend and will take his oath of office at a later date.

The State Board of Elections chooses two members from each party to serve on each county board. Members serve two-year terms. The governor appoints the chair of each county board. Crow serves as chair of the Union board.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.