CONCORD  – Ross Chastain delivered Niece Motorsports its fourth NASCAR Camping World Truck Series victory in dramatic fashion at the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 on May 27 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Chastain inherited an opportunity to win after Carson Hocevar, his Niece teammate, was involved in a crash with Ryan Preece to set up the final caution. Chastain restarted second on the green-white-checkered restart with two laps to go and used pushes from John Hunter Nemechek and Grant Enfinger to take the lead and hold it in the closing moments.

"My thoughts are, Carson Hocevar won this race,” Chastain said. “He did such an amazing job. He's a great kid and he's going to take somebody's job in this sport, maybe mine, and he's going to win a lot of races. There were times when I felt like one of our teammates could win, but I'm happy to pick up the smashed watermelon pieces and win this race.”

This marked Chastain’s fourth Truck Series win. He used Friday's race as a tune-up for Sunday's Coca-Cola 600 in his bid for his third NASCAR Cup Series win of the year.

Hocevar's hopes of a breakthrough Truck Series victory appeared all but set in the closing laps, when a three-second lead over Preece seemed to be more than enough. A caution with four laps to go, however, forced Hocevar to get aggressive in keeping Preece behind him on the restart – and both drivers paid a high price.

Hocevar slid into Preece and both went into the wall, necessitating another restart and knocking each contender out of the running.

Chastain inherited a front-row spot on the final restart and sped to the point thanks to help from Nemechek, who finished third, and Enfinger, the runner-up.

"The track seemed like it changed a lot from practice,” Enfinger said. ”I honestly feel like we were a top-five or top-six truck most of the race. We were able to have a good pit stop there. Our guys have honestly carried us there this year. Very, very proud of the hard work from all the guys at GMS Racing."

Christian Eckes and Zane Smith completed the top five. Tanner Gray was sixth with Kyle Busch seventh, Chandler Smith eighth and Stewart Friesen ninth. Defending series champion Ben Rhodes rounded out the top 10.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.